Crown Chakra Symbol Meaning: Seed Mantra, Color & More

Crown chakra is the seventh and the last spiraling energy wheel representing pure consciousness or nothingness. While the lower chakras govern the material aspect of survival and thriving in the world, the higher chakras like Ajna and Crown are associated with deep wisdom and supreme knowledge.

Seven Chakra Worksheets (Instant Download)

Crown Chakra Symbol (“Thousand-Petalled Lotus”)

Crown chakra is where the contracted energy that we refer to as “me” dissolves into the bliss of cosmic energy or pure consciousness. It is symbolically shown as a thousand-petalled lotus, indicating unlimited joy and happiness.

The source of unhappiness is contained in the thought that one is separate from the world. This division between “me” and others becomes the very source of our suffering.

When the third eye or Ajna chakra opens, we get the supreme knowledge that everything in life is an interconnected phenomenon. Nothing exists independently on its own. 

It destroys our perception of ourselves as a separate entity with name and form. We see ourselves as a whole (where the word holy comes from). It is the destructive eye of Shiva that destroys the illusion of a separate self. Therefore, third-eye is the wisdom center.

Crown chakra is the culmination point where the individual consciousness merges into the cosmic consciousness or source. It brings about a natural compassion and kindness for all beings

For that reason, the crown chakra is located slightly above the head, although some of the crown chakra symptoms are experienced at the top of the head. It is the only chakra that is outside of the scope of the physical body.

Crown Chakra Seed Mantra (“OM”)

The seed mantra of the crown chakra is “OM,” which is the sacred mantra In Hinduism, Buddhism, and other religions. But this mantra did not originate in the religions mentioned above because it was known much before any religion came into existence.

Crown Chakra Symbol Color (“Violet”)

Crown chakra is shown by the violet color, which represents a high-frequency state. It is the frequency of pure love, compassion, and empathy. It represents the realization of oneness or unicity and symbolizes inner peace.

The crown chakra is associated with the functioning of the pituitary gland, which is the primary gland that controls the functioning of the other endocrine glands.

What Happens When The Crown Chakra Opens

The crown chakra awakening is associated with self-realization or enlightenment. It is simply the realization that we’re not the limited mind-body organisms we believe ourselves to be.

We are the pure consciousness whose true nature is eternal-consciousness-bliss (sat-chit-ananda). While immersed in daily living, this illusion that we are limited brings about a sense of lack or empty feeling in our hearts.

We feel unsatisfied and believe ourselves to be broken individuals living meaningless life. We remain depressed and disconnected from our true purpose. Ramana Maharishi clearly said that self-realization is the true goal. The radiance of self-realization dispels the darkness of doom and gloom.

When the crown chakra opens, we become aware of our true nature or “pure being.” While we operate in the world with a sense of individuality, we don’t identify with it. All identifications lose their grip on us. We don’t crave material pleasures, and at the same time, we don’t even deny the pleasures that we get from nature.

Spiritual awakening happens at the third-eye chakra, where we realize that we’re not the “doers” of our actions. Actions happen due to thinking, but there is no individual thinker doing anything. This realization is harrowing for most people, and in my opinion, it is what the scriptures refer to as “the dark night of the soul.”

Crown chakra awakening is the final deliverance of the spiritual wisdom that comes through the third-eye awakening. The bliss of crown chakra awakening is not circumstantial or based on living conditions. It is eternal bliss of nothingness.

If you’re interested, check out the chakra resources like worksheets, chakra printable card set, and affirmations posters. For complete knowledge on chakra healing, check out my e-book – Awakening The Seven Chakras, OR get the complete All-In-One Chakra Bundle (15% off).