Awakening The Heart Chakra Energy

The heart chakra, also known as the Anahata, divides the seven chakras of the spiritual body into two halves. The chakras below the heart are associated with survival and wellness in the material (physical) realm, whereas those above are associated with spirituality and higher consciousness.

The heart chakra is one of the most beautiful chakras of the spiritual body and is said to be the seat of unlimited love, compassion, kindness, and forgiveness. It is located near the heart, in the center of the chest.

The heart chakra is the residence of Atman (divine self) or the soul. And our soul is nothing but absolute love.

The heart chakra is associated with the air element. However, it’s important to note that we are not talking about the air composed of gases here. The air element mentioned here refers to the vital energy which flows inside the body.

Seven Chakra Worksheets (Instant Download)

In the Hindu traditions, it is known as the prana, whereas in Chinese traditions, they call it chi. This prana has a tremendous influence on our body and mind. The steady flow of prana through the body ensures a calm and restful mind.

The heart chakra is linked to the Thymus gland of the physical body. The thymus gland is located in the neck region above the heart, and it generates T lymphocytes (white blood cells) that help the immune system fight off diseases. These white blood cells also fend off pathogens (microorganisms that cause diseases).

Healing the heart chakra enables us to experience unlimited love and compassion. It enables us to feel compassion not only towards ourselves but also towards other people. It increases kindness, and empathy, and brings about joy and love.

Before we get to the causes of heart chakra blockage and steps to heal, let’s understand what the heart chakra symbolizes.

Understanding the Symbol of Green Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is symbolically shown as a lotus with twelve petals. The color is green. It consists of two triangles, one pointing up and the other pointing downwards. The triangles intersect and form a six-pointed star or a hexagon.

The downward triangle represents the downwards energy flow towards the lower three chakras. The downwards energy flow is dominant when you work towards worldly passions such as earning wealth, fame, and physical health.

There is nothing wrong with pursuing worldly passions. Your body itself is material, and its health is directly connected to your mental wellbeing and vice-versa.

The only thing to take care of is that one should pursue these “worldly passions” and material needs consciously. An unconscious drive to acquire wealth and fame born out of fear and insecurities creates blockages in all chakras.

For example, there is nothing wrong with earning money. When you do it unconsciously, you will give rise to negative ‘vrittis’ (or tendencies) such as lust, jealousy, envy, anxiety, possessiveness, arrogance, discrimination, sadness, despair, etc.

If you operate unconsciously, you give rise to a feeling of emptiness within, which grows stronger with time. Even otherwise, you may be able to achieve all that you desire, but you will never be at peace. You will never be happy.

When you act consciously, you experience energy flow from the heart to the lower three chakras, making you fearless, building high confidence and self-esteem, eliminating doubt and anxiety, and more.

Before you open the heart chakra, your lower three chakras should be well balanced as well. Work on the lower chakras before attempting to heal the heart chakra.

The triangle facing upwards represents the upward energy flow, which becomes dominant when pursuing high consciousness and spiritual progress. This energy flow indicates your pursuit of awakening and liberation.

When you pursue higher consciousness, you give rise to ‘vrittis’ such as love, understanding, bliss, clarity, purity, empathy, compassion, unity, peace, harmony, kindness, and forgiveness. These vrittis are the twelve petals of the heart chakra.

The animal associated with the heart chakra is Antelope. Antelope characterizes grace and innocence. At the same time, it is most vigilant to perceived threats. It knows what to do in a particular situation. Therefore, the heart chakra gives the ability to discriminate.

Symptoms of A Blocked Heart Chakra

The heart of a child is pure, but as we start growing up, we start interacting with all kinds of energies present in this world, and because of that, a lot of changes happen within us.

Some of the reasons why the heart chakra gets blocked in the first place are as follows:

  • Our inability to let go of the past.
  • Trust issues.
  • Dependency on others.
  • Suppressing of emotions.
  • Feelings of anger, hatred, and resentment.
  • Lack of Empathy.
  • Passing judgments on others.
  • And more.

How To Open The Heart Chakra

Some practical ways to enhance heart energy flow are mentioned below. It will not only help balance the heart chakra and positively impact the other chakras as well.

Some of the ways to open the heart chakra are as follows:

  • Be aware of the present moment.
  • Establish clear boundaries.
  • Make time to pursue activities and hobbies.
  • Give yourself permission to accept and receive love.
  • Learn to live with awareness.
  • Avoid negativity.
  • Practice forgiveness.
  • Express gratitude for what you have.
  • Improve your lifestyle by forming healthy habits.

Heart Chakra Affirmations

Affirmations are very effective in opening blocked chakras. I practice affirmations every day, especially before bedtime, so that the message passes on to my subconscious mind.

Some of the affirmations for opening the heart chakra are as follows:

  • I am ready to receive love and support.
  • I open my heart to receive unconditional love.
  • I open my heart to give unconditional love to others.
  • I love myself.
  • I forgive others.

Some ‘Easy to Do’ Yoga Postures

I will list some easy-to-do yoga poses to help you heal the heart chakra. It would be best to practice these postures on an empty stomach, preferably at least 2 to 3 hours after a meal. These yoga poses help relieve stress and stimulate the energy flow in the heart chakra.

They are as follows:

  • Cobra pose.
  • Cat-cow pose.
  • Bridge pose.
  • Child’s pose.
  • Camel pose.

Heart Chakra Essentials Oils

Essential oils are used extensively for activating the chakras. Some of the oils that help in opening the heart chakra are as follows:

  • Rose Essential Oil
  • Jasmine Essential Oil
  • Pine Essential Oil
  • Ylang Ylang
  • Neroli Essential Oil

Practice Heart Chakra Meditation

Meditation helps restore the energy balance within the chakras. As a beginner, start by practicing only 10 minutes a day (anytime), and subsequently, increase the time as and when you feel more comfortable. Heart chakra meditation is simple and you can get started from the comfort of your home.

Final Thoughts

You develop love, empathy, and compassion when you open your heart chakra. It forms the foundation for further spiritual growth. If the heart chakra is blocked, the possibility of opening the higher chakras is low.

You will quickly heal your heart chakra if you adopt a positive attitude towards life. Let go of the past, don’t hold hatred and grudges towards people, learn to forgive, and do things that raise your sense of self-worth.

If you’re interested, check out the chakra resources like worksheets, chakra printable card set, and affirmations posters. For complete knowledge on chakra healing, check out my e-book – Awakening The Seven Chakras, OR get the complete All-In-One Chakra Bundle (15% off).